Turning a Cardboard Shoe Box into Decorative Jewelry Storage

My basement is a treasure trove of discarded boxes, hardware, game boards, maps, and other goodies just waiting to be re-purposed and re-cycled into works of art.   I’m always down there foraging through shelves and drawers while I’m doing the laundry, looking for something interesting.   My husband had an old pair of shoes that he was looking to get rid of, still sitting in the box on the coffee table of all places.  I finally threw the shoes out and took the box upstairs.  It was a nice, lightweight corrugated cardboard box, just waiting for the ribbed layer to be revealed.  I decided to make a textured, mixed media jewelry box out of it.  I cut out the pieces I would need and constructed a lovely little box just 6 inches long x 4 inches wide by 1 inch deep with three compartments with an attached lid.   Since I love and am inspired by all things feminine, pretty and Victorian that was the theme I decided on.  I also decided to use various shades of purple as my choice of color and embellished the box with pretty metallic charms, flowers, scrabble tiles that spell the word “Promise” and other assorted whimsies.    Handmade Jewelry Gift Box Victorian Theme by Robin Larido on Etsy Handmade Jewelry Gift Box Victorian Theme (photo 3) by Robin Larido on Etsy Handmade Jewelry Gift Box Victorian Theme (photo 2) by Robin Larido on Etsy Handmade Jewelry Gift Box Victorian Theme (photo 7) by Robin Larido on Etsy

One thought on “Turning a Cardboard Shoe Box into Decorative Jewelry Storage

Leave a Reply

