Original Mixed Media Art Dolls

Meet Faith, Hope and Love!  My collection of Paper Art Dolls features three beautiful ladies, dressed in their best finery.  After discovering and admiring the work of Diana D. Darden, a talented mixed media artist and designer, who creates the most wonderfully whimsical dolls I’ve ever seen, I decided to try my hand at creating my own free-standing original paper art dolls.   For the body of each doll, I sketched out and cut the dress shapes from a shirt box.  For the heads, I looked through my collection of Somerset Studio magazines and selected appropriately sized vintage looking images.   I added bits of decorative paper, specialty vellum, clip art images and embellishments to the cardboard shapes.  The dolls are backed with decorative floral print card stock.  I attached stands to the back of each doll using re-purposed cardboard packaging, which I also decorated to match the theme of each doll.   Two of the dolls, “Love” (in purple) and “Hope” (in gold) have articulated arms attached with tiny flower shaped brads.  “Faith” (in pink and light blue) has silver metallic angel wing pendants for arms that I attached with jump rings.

I will be showing these dolls at my mixed media art exhibit at the Hendrick Hudson Free Library in Montrose, New York beginning next Saturday, January 31st.  You can see them in person in the first floor display case in the lobby.  At the end of February, they will be available for sale in my Etsy shop www. RobinsArtAndDesign.etsy.com.

Paper Art Dolls Mixed Media Originals by Robin Larido
Paper Art Dolls Mixed Media Originals by Robin Larido

Paper Art Doll Original Mixed Media entitled FAITH by Robin Larido Paper Art Doll Original Mixed Media entitled HOPE by Robin Larido Paper Art Doll Original Mixed Media entitled LOVE by Robin Larido

You can find Diana on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Diana-D-Darden-ArtistDesigner/152672571493366

Leave a Reply

